The Human Condition

Yikajé
4 min readJan 19, 2022
“Le Penseur” by Auguste Rodin

“What is the difference between an intellectual among a sea of fools and a fool among a sea of intellectuals?”. I have pondered on this since my primary school days and after 15 years, I finally arrived at a comfortable answer and that is “perspective”.

Often limiting myself to five branches of philosophy (Ethics, Logic, Aesthetics, Political Philosophy & Metaphysics) learning from great thinkers like Aristotle, Ngozi Adichie, Nietzsche, Dick Gregory, Carl Jung, Franz Fanon, Simone de Beauvoir and so many more. Adopting various schools of thought in order of existentialism, nihilism, epicureanism, and finally stoicism. I saw the futility in seeking external validation and sought instead from the one person that mattered the most (me). So, I sat, dropped all distractions, closed my oculars, breathe, and stared into the abyss, and the darkness stared back with a million twinkling eyes. I realized just like the external universe, there was one inside myself as well. Blessed with a million stars, nebulae, planets, yet cursed with immense blackholes and asteroid belts. The effervescent nature of the human consciousness.

I noticed that all 8 billion of us are universes in ourselves. Each unique yet so similar, like snowflakes, all the same but each with a pattern unique to each particle. I began to explore every universe that came across my path, asking about who they are versus who…

--

--

Yikajé

Let us conquer the barrier between consciousness and reality --disk scratch-- you know what, pull the plug